Time Magazine announced their person of the year on Wednesday, December 6th, naming “The Silence Breakers” or the men and women who have spoken up against sexual misconduct as this year’s winner. The women featured in the write up, which you can find here, detail their experiences with sexual misconduct and highlight what bravery it takes to speak up about this kind of behavior, especially in Hollywood and the media. Women interviewed and featured on the cover of Time Magazine for the award include Ashley Judd, Taylor Swift, Rose McGowan, Alyssa Milano, Tarana Burke, and Selma Blair.

The magazines pointedly writes

We’re still at the bomb-throwing point of this revolution, a reactive stage at which nuance can go into hiding. But while anger can start a revolution, in its most raw and feral form it can’t negotiate the more delicate dance steps needed for true social change. Private conversations, which can’t be legislated or enforced, are essential.Norms evolve, and it’s long past time for any culture to view harassment as acceptable. But there’s a great deal at stake in how we assess these new boundaries—for women and men together. We can and should police criminal acts and discourage inappropriate, destructive behavior.

According to their website, Since 1927, TIME has identified the Person of the Year, recognizing the person or group of people who most influenced the news during the past year, for better or for worse.” Some of those “for worse” winners have included Joseph Stalin (1942, 1939) and  Adolt Hitler (1938). The first ever recipient of the Person of the Year Award was Charles Lindbergh. He made history as the first person to fly solo across the Atlantic Ocean.

While the Person of the Year award is always talked about, it became a point of contention in late November of 2017 when Donald Trump tweeted that he was in consideration for the award but did not agree to their terms for an interview and photo shoot. He wrote that he “took a pass” at the opportunity. Many people took this as “fake news” and doubted the authenticity of these claims.  It was announced on December 6th that Trump was the runner-up for the award.


Time tweeted back about the controversy. It said that it does not comment on the results until the award is announced. Numerous Twitterites took to the internet to declare that they would boycott time if it awarded Trump this year, despite the fact that he won in 2016.

The short list, voted on by the people, included Donald Trump, the #MeToo movement, Colin Kaepernick, Jeff Bezos, The Dreamers, Patty Jenkins, Kim Jong Un, Robert Mueller, Crown Prince Mohammed bin Salman of Saudi Arabia, and XI Jinping.

The winners of the Person of the Year have included in recent years Donald Trump (2016), Angela Merkel (2015), Ebola fighters (2014), Pope Francis (2013), Barack Obama (2012, 2008), The Protester (2011), Mark Zuckerberg (2010), and Ben Bernanke (2009.)

Aryssa D
FFL Cabinet Member