In May, the Official Future Female Leaders Book Club selected American Princess: A Novel of First Daughter Alice Roosevelt by Stephanie Marie Thornton as our pick. We loved showcasing this fascinating woman, a first daughter and wife of the Speaker of the House and enigmatic Washington legend. 

Readers were immediately drawn to this story that spanned nearly a century and fell in love with Alice Roosevelt, the only daughter of President Theodore Roosevelt and his first wife. Alice’s life was far from simple. Each chapter of this novel helped us unlock something new about her, her life, and the world she inhabited. 

If you loved American Princess and are looking for your next read, here are twelve great options!

And They Called It Camelot: A Novel of Jacqueline Bouvier Kennedy Onassis

If you loved American Princess, you may like this other historical fiction novel by the same author! In this book, Thornton tells the life story of famous first lady Jackie Kennedy.

The First Mrs. Rothschild: A Novel 

If you like stories where you know that the family succeeds in the end, you’ll love this story about overcoming adversity, navigating family drama, and becoming a financial dynasty known worldwide. 

Next Year in Havana

If you love historical fiction with a split point of view–with the past and present melding together–you’ll enjoy this book by Chanel Cleeton that follows two women on a journey to connect with their roots 

Alice: Alice Roosevelt Longworth, from White House Princess to Washington Power Broker

If you want a different, more fact-based and less narrative take on the lady that was Alice Roosevelt, this biography is a great place to start! At 640 pages, you’ll feel like you know Alice very well afterwards. 

The Summer Wives

We love books with strong female protagonists, and Beatriz Williams delivers in her novels. Set in the 1950s, this novel tackles money and love and the troubles they both bring on a small New England island. This is ideal for history lovers who want a bit of romance.

The English Wife

A little murder mystery with your history? Lauren Willig delivers all that (and more) with this sweeping historical fiction novel. Look at that cover! Plus, you’ll love the unfolding secrets. 

The Queen’s Secret: A Novel of England’s World War II Queen

Fans of The Crown and British royal history will love this novel of the Queen Mother, the mother of current Queen Elizabeth II. This is great for people who don’t know much about that period of British history–following the abdication of Edward VIII. 

The Fountain of Silence

Historical fiction lovers will love this unique look into Spain in the 1950s under Franco. This author, Ruta Septys, writes beautiful prose and this novel is so acclaimed. This is an often untold historical moment, especially in the US, and historical fiction fans will love this book. 

The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek

Obscure historical moments led by strong women is kind of my jam. If it is yours too you’ll love this book. it is written by a Kentucky native and full of new historical moments for you to explore and research afterwards. 

Helen of Troy

Stories of strong women accused of being trouble-making are fascinating to me. Margaret George has some great books about these kind of women. This one, a historical novel about Helen of Troy, is a great place to start if you’re inspired by Alice. 

1912: Wilson, Roosevelt, Taft and Debs -The Election that Changed the Country

If you were absolutely fascinated by the train-wreck of the 1912 election, you have got to read this book. It’s one of the most unique aspects of Teddy Roosevelt’s life, and obviously it had a huge impact on Alice. 

RELATED: 16 Historical Fiction Books With Remarkable Leading Ladies

Sisters First: Stories From Our Wild and Wonderful Life

If what compelled you most about Alice’s story was her role as first daughter, you should definitely read this modern story of first daughters by Jenna and Barbara Bush, the twin daughters of President George W Bush. It absolutely is enlightening and interesting to see how their lives were impacted by how Alice behaved almost a century before!

Future Female Leaders is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.

Aryssa D
FFL Cabinet Member