Yes, Valentine’s Day has passed by, but it’s never the wrong time to talk about love. Dr. Gary Chapman has sold over 12 million copies of his book titled The 5 Love Languages: The Secret to Love That Lasts. When I first was introduced to my partner and we began our relationship, he told me about this phenomenon. He explained to me his love love language to communicate to me how he gives and receives love. Before even taking the quiz, my partner and I got to know each other better. We led this incredible foundation of our relationship based on what he could tell my love languages were, and how I considered his love language throughout our relationship. Let’s break down the five love languages here:

1) Words of Affirmation

This love language is all about hearing your partner express their love for you through conversation, compliments, etc. This is more the “lovey dovey” talk. Hearing something as simple as “I love you” is extremely powerful in this type of love language. It also shows that insults or negative conversation affect you much more as well if this method is your way of giving and receiving love.

2) Quality Time

Not too surprisingly to me, this is both my partner and I’s love language. We both value the quality time we spend together more than anything else. We enjoy sharing hobbies, doing chores together, or having conversations with no distractions. In fact, we express our love for each other more clearly when we give each other our undivided attention. If this sounds like you, this may be your love language, too!

3) Physical Touch

No, we are not just talking about the bedroom. This can include hugs, holding hands, etc. Thoughtful ways of touch can show a person extreme love, care and affirmation in their relationship. In this love language, the physical presence of one another through touches on the arm, shoulder, or face, show leaps and bounds of love to a person.

4) Acts of Service

Many find this love language interesting, because how can tasks such as vacuuming really be a love language? Well it can! This includes different acts that you know your partner would appreciate. For example, my partner dreads handling dirty dishes. I do a lot of the dishes in our home, mostly because I really don’t mind doing them. He does similar acts for me, such as grabbing me a glass of water, helping to take the dog outside if I am extremely tired, etc.

5) Receiving Gifts

If this is a love language, this does not make you a materialistic person. The receiver of gifts in this love language appreciates and is affirmed by the thoughtfulness and effort that their partner put into the gift. If this is you, your love language is all about remembering anniversaries, birthdays, etc.

If you are interested in finding out what your love language is, click here to take the quiz. Also, don’t be concerned if you don’t have the same love language as your partner. That does not mean that you’re not compatible. Take into consideration what your partner loves about you and what you love about them. There is a quiz for singles, couples, teens, and children! Love conquers all.

Future Female Leaders is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to and affiliated sites.

Kellie J